Midnight Oil Announce Extra Tickets & Extra Shows – Across The Ocean

Midnight Oil Announce Extra Tickets & Extra Shows

With less than two months until the homecoming leg of The Great Circle 2017 World Tour, the first Midnight Oil tickets started shipping to Australian fans today.

To coincide with this moment the band and their promoters, Frontier Touring, have just dropped a few big surprises.

Firstly they revealed that Midnight Oil will do a third and final concert at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl on Wednesday November 15. Pre-sale tickets to this new Melbourne show will be available to Frontier Members (sign up here) and Midnight Oil Subscribers (sign up here) from noon AEST on Tuesday August 8.  General Public tickets will then go on sale at noon AEST on Friday August 11. Tickets for each of the first two shows at this iconic venue sold out within minutes so fans are advised to get in early. Melbourne folk-punks The Smith Street Band will be special guests, with Yarra Valley R&B/soul combo The Teskey Brothers kicking off proceedings.

Oils fans around the rest of Australia also got some great news today. As part of ongoing anti-scalping initiatives Midnight Oil and Frontier Touring have just announced a STRICTLY LIMITED final release of extra tickets for nearly all of the local shows that were previously sold out. Some of these tickets will be available immediately via the usual online ticketing outlets.

The Oils have also allocated a small quantity of tickets for sale via select independent music stores to encourage fans to visit these retailers who do so much for Australian music. Record store tickets will go on sale from store opening today until sold out – you’ve just got to stand in line! Please see the show-by-show info below for all the specific store details (digital version here).

Last but not least Midnight Oil also revealed today an intimate performance in Far North Queensland during early October to help draw extra attention to the plight of the Great Barrier Reef. Fans should listen to their local Triple M station over coming weeks to learn more about this unique event and get their chance to win free tickets.

Meanwhile The Great Circle 2017 World Tour continues to make waves across the globe. So far the band has rotated over 90 songs through their live sets with shows regularly topping the two hour mark.

The European leg wrapped up last week after playing to over 250,000 people on that continent including the Oils’ first ever concert in the Czech Republic (pictured). They then made a triumphant return to South Africa and will soon play in Singapore before making an encore visit to North America for some big gigs including The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles.

By the time the Australian tour launches in Alice Springs on October 2 Midnight Oil will have played 50 gigs in 17 countries. The band will be road hardened and ready.

As is evident from the international live reviews Australian fans are in for a treat. Here’s just a small taste of what the critics have said so far:

“Collectively, the Oils proved more than ready to take on all comers for the title of world’s most exhilarating live rock band.” – (Illinois Entertainer)

“Proselytizers place the Australian band in the pantheon of great live acts, and justifiably so.” – (Chicago Tribune)

“Midnight Oil brought the power and the passion, full force, as if they hadn’t been gone for the last 15 years. A fantastic show.” – (Brooklyn Vegan)

“The show was packed with highlights … the crowd was going bonkers … the band nearly blew the roof off the place.” – (Goldmine)

“It’s no small thing to revive one of the biggest, most beloved and simultaneously most polarizing bands Australia has ever produced … sadly, in a sense, much of the material is more relevant than ever … audiences are in for one heck of a treat.” – (The Guardian)

“The musicianship is of the highest order, vocally there’s a passion almost unseen these days and at the heart of it all lies a vast collection of simply exquisite songs.” – (Music Net, UK)

“A quarter-century on from their zenith, Midnight Oil’s return to the stage arrives at a timely political juncture; their reputation as a thrilling live act is only enriched with such a committed performance” – (Riddle Magazine UK)

“Presented with aplomb by five instrumentalists visibly boosted by this reunion … and the force of Peter Garrett. In addition to his scathing and expressive voice the giant delivers his famous gestures as an epileptic zombie miming the explosiveness of his comrades and the madness of men.” – (Le Monde, France)

“Garrett and the Oils approached every single song with so much passion that there was no doubt that what the audience witnessed was the stuff of legends, and sadly when it comes to music, there are not many of this calibre left.” – (City Buzz, South Africa)

MIDNIGHT OIL – THE GREAT CIRCLE TOUR

#Oils2017
Presented by Frontier Touring, MAX and Triple M
In association with Sony Music Entertainment

Frontier Members pre-sale for third and final Melbourne show runs via
frontiertouring.com/midnightoil

Tuesday 8 August (12noon AEST) to Wednesday 9 August (12noon AEST)
(Or ends earlier if pre-sale allocation is exhausted)

General public for third and final Melbourne show on sale
12noon local time, Friday 11 August


Mon 2 Oct | ANZAC Oval, Alice Springs, NT (18+*) Tickets still available
With Dan Sultan & Apakatjah
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849

Wed 4 Oct | Darwin Amphitheatre, Darwin, NT (18+*) Tickets still available
With Dan Sultan & Irrunytju Band
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by Mix 104.9

Sat 7 Oct  | Kuranda Amphitheatre, Cairns, QLD (18+*)
SOLD OUT

With Urthboy
Presented locally by Triple M

Tue 10 Oct | Townsville Entertainment Centre, Townsville, QLD (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE TICKETS NOW AVAILABLE

With Urthboy
tecc.net.au | Ph: (07) 4771 400
Presented locally by 4TO

Thu 12 Oct | Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton, QLD (18+*)
SOLD OUT

With Urthboy
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 14 Oct | Big Pineapple Fields, Sunshine Coast, QLD (18+*)
S
OLD OUT
With The Living End & Jebediah
Presented locally by 92.7 Mix FM

Sun 15 Oct | Riverstage, Brisbane, QLD (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT ROCKINGHORSE RECORDS (245 ALBERT ST BRISBANE)

With The Jezabels
Presented locally by Triple M

Tue 17 Oct | Riverstage, Brisbane, QLD (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT ROCKINGHORSE RECORDS (245 ALBERT ST BRISBANE)

With George Telek & David Bridie
Presented locally by Triple M

Thu 19 Oct | Hockey Fields, Coffs Harbour (18+*)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW

With Jebediah & Jack River
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 21 Oct | Hope Estate, Hunter Valley, NSW (18+*)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE online and also over the counter from THE EDWARDS SHOP (148 PARRY ST NEWCASTLE WEST)

With Birds of Tokyo & Ash Grunwald
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presnted locally by KOFM

Tue 24 Oct | AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS AVAILABLE online and also over the counter from SONGLAND RECORDS (SHOP 17/26 BRIERLY ST, WESTON)

With Something For Kate
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by MIX 106.3

Thu 26 Oct | The Village Green Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, SA (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT CLARITY RECORDS (60 PULTENEY ST ADELAIDE)

With Spiderbait & Bad//Dreems
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 28 Oct | Perth Arena, Perth, WA (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT 78s RECORDS (255 MURRAY ST PERTH)

With Spiderbait
Presented locally by Mix 94.5

Wed 1 Nov | Derwent Entertainmnent Centre, Hobart, TAS (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW

With The Jezabels
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by Triple M

Fri 3 Nov | Gateway Lakes, Wodonga, VIC (18+*)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW

With The Living End & Even
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 4 Nov | Hanging Rock, Mt Macedon, VIC (18+*)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW

With John Butler Trio, Something for Kate, Frank Yamma & David Bridie
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by Triple M

Mon 6 Nov | Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne, VIC (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT GREVILLE RECORDS (152 GREVILLE ST PRAHRAN)

With The Jezabels & Adalita
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by Triple M

Wed 8 Nov | Win Entertainment Centre, Wollongong, NSW (All Ages)
LAST RELEASE OF VERY LIMITED TICKETS ONLY AVAILABLE OVER THE COUNTER AT GREVILLE RECORDS (152 GREVILLE ST PRAHRAN)

With Abbe May
Presented locally by WAVE FM

Sat 11 Nov | The Domain, Sydney, NSW (18+*)
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE online and also over the counter from RED EYE RECORDS (143 YORK ST SYDNEY) AND MALL MUSIC (SHOP 30 WESTFIELD WARRINGAH MALL)

With John Butler Trio & A.B.Original
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by Triple M

Mon 13 Nov | Win Entertainment Centre, Wollongong, NSW (All Ages)
Previously Wed 8 Nov – CHANGE OF DATE – Tickets for original date valid for new date
LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW
With Abbe May
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by WAVE FM

Wed 15 Nov | Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne, VIC (All Ages) +*)
THIRD & FINAL SHOW – JUST ANNOUNCED!

With The Smith Street Band & The Teskey Brothers
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
Presented locally by Triple M

Fri 17 Nov | The Domain, Sydney, NSW (18+*)

LAST RELEASE OF TICKETS AVAILABLE online and also over the counter from RED EYE RECORDS (143 YORK ST SYDNEY) AND MALL MUSIC (SHOP 30 WESTFIELD WARRINGAH MALL)
With John Butler Trio & A.B.Original
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
Presented locally by Triple M

* U18s must be accompanied by parent/legal guardian

INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES:
Full details at www.midnightoil.com/tour-dates/

THE GREAT CIRCLE TOUR – FORTHCOMING INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES

ASIA
Wed 16 Aug Star Theatre | Singapore | SG

NORTH AMERICA
Sat 19 Aug The Greek | Los Angeles, CA
Mon 21 Aug Terminal 5 | New York City, NY
Wed 23 Aug Place Des Arts | Montreal, QC
Fri 25 Aug Budweiser Stage | Toronto, ON
Sun 27 Aug House of Blues | Cleveland, OH
Tue 29 Aug First Avenue | Minneapolis, MN

NEW ZEALAND
Sat 9 Sep Vector Arena | Auckland, NZ
Mon 11 Sep Horncastle Arena | Christchurch, NZ

THE GREAT CIRCLE – PAST TOUR DATES

AUSTRALIA
Thu 13 Apr Selina’s | Coogee Bay Hotel, Sydney

SOUTH AMERICA
Tue 25 Apr Pepsi on Stage | Porto Alegre
Thu 27 Apr Live | Curtiba
Sat 29 Apr Espaço das Americas | São Paolo
Sun 30 Apr Vivo Rio | Rio De Janeiro
Tue 2 May NET Live | Brasilia

NORTH AMERICA
Sat 6 May Center Stage | Atlanta, GA – SOLD OUT  
Sun 7 May Beale Street Music Festival Memphis, TN
Tue 9 May The Filmore | Silver Spring, MD – SOLD OUT
Thu 11 May House of Blues | Boston, MA – SOLD OUT
Sat 13 May Webster Hall | New York City, NY – SOLD OUT
Tue 16 May Keswick Theatre | Glenside, PA – SOLD OUT
Thu 18 May The Vic | Chicago, IL – SOLD OUT
Sat 20 May Danforth Theatre | Toronto, Canada – SOLD OUT
Tue 23 May Paramount Theatre | Denver, CO – SOLD OUT
Thu 25 May The Wiltern | Los Angeles, CA – SOLD OUT
Sat 27 May Fox Theatre | Oakland, CA – SOLD OUT
Mon 29 May Revolution Hall | Portland, OR – SOLD OUT
Wed 31 May Moore Theatre | Seattle, WA – SOLD OUT
Fri 2 June The Commodore | Vancouver, Canada – SOLD OUT

EUROPE + UK
Wed 21 June E-Werk | Cologne, Germany – SOLD OUT
Fri 23 June Paradiso | Amsterdam, Holland – SOLD OUT
Sun 25 June Huxleys Neue Welt | Berlin, Germany – SOLD OUT
Tue 27 June Amager Bio | Copenhagen, Denmark – SOLD OUT
Thu 29 June Rockafeller Music Hall | Oslo, Norway – SOLD OUT
Sat 1 July Furuviksparken | Gävle, Sweden
Tue 4 July Hammersmith Apollo | London, UK – SOLD OUT
Thu 6 July Olympia | Paris, France – SOLD OUT
Fri 7 July Festival de Beauregard | Hérouville-Saint-Claire, France
Sun 9 July Les Deferlantes Festival | Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Wed 12 July Volkshaus | Zurich, Switzerland
Fri 14 July Musilac | Aix Les Bains, France
Sun 16 July Les Vieilles Charrues | Carhaix, France
Tue 18 July Batschkapp | Frankfurt, Germany – SOLD OUT
Fri 21 July Colours of Ostrava | Ostrava, Czech Republic
Sun 23 July Hammersmith Apollo | London, UK
Tue 25 July Olympia | Paris, France

SOUTH AFRICA
Sat 29 July Marks Park, Emmarentia, Johannesburg, South Africa