J Mascis Australian Tour March 2019 – Across The Ocean

J Mascis Australian Tour March 2019

It’s J Mascis live, what more do you need to know?

The frontman for Dinosaur Jr. has just released Elastic Days, his third solo studio album for legendary indie label Sub Pop. Its his first solo release since Tied To A Star in 2014.

“[Elastic Days is] an indie rock fundamentalists tour of how it’s done. “It” being defined as writing the best folksy, electric and acoustic guitar tinged songs this side of rock music.” – Alternative Nation

Mascis played all the instruments on the album which also features guest appearances from Pall Jenkins (Black Heart Procession) and Mark Mulcahy (Miracle Legion) and Zoe Randell of Aussies Luluc.

The video for the albums title track, Elastic Days, features the tragic comedy of cabaret comedian Dina Martina. Says J of the video “I’ve been a big Dina Martina fan for a long time. I’ve seen her perform many times over the years. I’m glad that I got her to do this video before she becomes an untouchable superstar. I am amazed at how the video came out, I’m so psyched.”

On tour Mascis plays an acoustic guitar plugged into an amp with his usual mind boggling array of pedals and effects. It’s still loud.

“… big alternative hits like a stripped back ‘Get Me’ proved favourites, with Mascis’ liberal use of effect pedals and looping providing a deceptive full-band sound at times.” – Scenestr Sydney review.

J Mascis tours Australia this March playing Adelaide Festival, The Farmer & The Owl Festival, Brunswick Music Festival and a whole bunch of headline dates. Tickets on sale tomorrow: November 28th

It’s J Mascis live. What more do you need to know?

J MASCIS NATIONAL AUSTRALIAN TOUR 2019

Friday 1st March 2019 – Sydney, The Factory Theatre
Co-presented by 2SER 107.3FM. With guests Rot TV and Peter Black

Saturday 2nd March 2019 – Wollongong, The Farmer & The Owl Festival

Sunday 3rd March 2019 – Newcastle, Lizottes
with guest Peter Black

Wednesday 6th March 2019 – Byron Bay, The Northern
with guest Mick Turner (Dirty Three)

Thursday 7th March 2019 – Brisbane, The Triffid
with guest Mick Turner (Dirty Three)

Friday 8th March 2019 – Perth, Badlands

Saturday 9th March 2019 – Margaret River, Settlers Tavern

Monday 11th March 2019 – Adelaide Festival, The Palais

Wednesday 13th March, Thursday 14th March and Friday 15th March 2019
Melbourne, Howler (Brunswick Music Festival)

Saturday 16th March 2019 – Castlemaine, Theatre Royal

Tickets on sale Wednesday 28th November 2018, 9:00AM AEDT from feelpresents.com