Peter Bibby New Album + Tour – Across The Ocean

Peter Bibby New Album + Tour

Australia’s foremost maverick poet Peter Bibby returns today with Work for Arseholes.

The new single will feature on his second studio album Grand Champion available Friday 28 September via Spinning Top Records (POND, GUM) | Caroline. To commemorate this arduous achievement, Bibby will tour the nation on a series of capital city and regional dates this October.

Work for Arseholes is a song about bad habits, self-reflection and pride, for better or worse. “I wrote it to make myself feel better about being a thirsty, unemployed insomniac whilst sitting in my bedroom in Northcote, Victoria. It didn’t make me feel that much better, however I have, for the most part, avoided working for arseholes ever since and I see that as a great success,” says Bibby of the track.

Directed by Peter Bibby & Billy Bowen and filmed in his hometown of Perth, the visual accompaniment offers a seductive glimpse to the parallel universe of a musician.

A bastard of an album that is lucky to see the light of day, Grand Champion was recorded largely in Perth. “It was interrupted by a gruelling return trip across the Nullarbor from Perth-Melbourne in a car that would have been better as a storage container, taking two months rather than the expected two weeks. This was only one of many setbacks with the completion of this record however we got there in the end,” muses Bibby.

For the latest instalment of Bibby true-blue charm and storytelling, the Perth singer-songwriter will tour the nation backed by the disorderly Dog Act. Gallivanting across Australia and overseas, Bibby has collected a legion of faithful supporters wielding his 2017 single Medicine and debut album Butcher/Hairstylist/Beautician. The cunning wordsmith has also taken the stage at BIGSOUND, St Jerome’s Laneway Festival and SXSW, performed a co-headline national tour with Melody Pool and supported mates The Murlocs and The Peep Tempel.

PETER BIBBY’S DOG ACT NATIONAL HEADLINE TOUR

Thursday 4 October – Workers Club, Geelong VIC
Friday 5 October – The Curtin, Melbourne VIC
Saturday 6 October – The Waratah Hotel, Hobart TAS
Thursday 11 October – Rocket Bar, Adelaide SA
Friday 12 October – Badlands, Perth WA
Saturday 13 October – Prince Of Wales, Bunbury WA
Thursday 18 October – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane QLD
Friday 19 October – The Northern, Byron Bay NSW
Saturday 20 October – Miami Shark Bar, Gold Coast QLD
Wednesday 24 October – The Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle NSW
Thursday 25 October – The Lansdowne, Sydney NSW
Friday 26 October – Strawberry Boogie @ UOW Uni Bar, Wollongong NSW
Sunday 28 October – Transit Bar, Canberra ACT