Hemina Release ‘Venus’ On Nov 11 – Across The Ocean

Hemina Release ‘Venus’ On Nov 11

Sydney four piece progressive metal act Hemina are preparing for the release of their third album, Venus, on November 11.


Venus is an 80 minute concept album detailing and examining domestic violence, relationships, and individuality in the 21st century with a narrative arc to accompany and elaborate on their previous conceptual output.

Hemina combine hard hitting syncopated grooves and lush synth backwashes with multi-part vocal harmonies and blistering, memorable leads to create soundcapes full of emotion.
The bands first two albums Synthetic (2011) and Nebulae were met with critical acclaim traversing two different sides of the band’s sonic spectrum from the complex and dark, to the concise and uplifting.
Venus sees that spectrum expand, offering flavours of what fans have come to expect in the past as well as a new palette and range of expression never before heard from the group.

From their ambitious “proggy” beginnings that shaped their first release, they developed a more alternative and concise sound for album number two and have now found their sonic feet and what they feel is the definitive Hemina direction and lineup.
Venus has been the most collaborative experience so far, with all members contributing to the songwriting process. So although many of the flavours and sounds will be familiar to those who know them, they are most certainly are treading new ground and this is the most adventurous they have been.

Venus is Hemina at their heaviest and most energetic without ignoring the tender and delicate side that keeps the music in balance.
With a powerful modern production and mix crafted between Skene and McMahon at Ploughman Studios with audiophile mastering from Ermin Hamidovic at Systematic Productions (Periphery, Devin Townsend, Plini) – this is the band at their best.

Hemina have played along side such international acts as Uriah Heep, Kamelot and Apocalyptica and will be supporting Queensryche in October for the Sydney leg of the tour.
They have shared the stage with Aussie legends, Caligula’s Horse, Chaos Divine, Voyager, James Norbert Ivanyi, Divine Ascension, Breaking Orbit among many others and simply live for playing live.

Venus Tracklisting:
1. Fantasy (6:12)
2. Expect the Unexpected (3:23)
3. High Kite Ride (9:07)
4. Moonlight Bride (4:40)
5. Venus (11:12)
6. The Collective Unconscious (3:32)
7. Secret’s Safe (7:14)
8. Starbreeze (3:24)
9. I (10:41)
10. Dream State of Mind (7:08)
11. Down Will Come Baby (12:01)
12. You [Bonus Track] (4:23)

Fans can pre-order Venus now via

Their Bandcamp store includes digital downloads, digipaks and shirts.
Both Bandcamp and iTunes preorders come with an immediate download of Moonlight Bride. Purchases via Bandcamp will also receive the exclusive bonus track You.

To support the release of Venus Hemina will be playing some select album launch shows with Caligula’s Horse, Teramaze, Vanishing Point and more!

Tour Dates

Saturday, October 15: Manning Bar, Sydney – supporting Queensryche
Sunday, November 20: Newtown Social Club, Sydney – w/ Caligula’s Horse and Sevsons
Saturday, December 3: The Vault, Newcastle – w/ Darkcell
Friday, December 9: Mr Boogieman Bar, Melbourne w/, Phoenix Day and Kill: Death: Ratio
Saturday, December 10: The Barwon Club Hotel, Geelong w/ Teramaze, Vanishing Point, and Damnation’s Day
Friday, December 23: The Basement, Canberra w/ Taliesin, and Genetics

Tix from hemina.bigcartel.com

Hemina are:
Douglas Skene – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Mitch Coull – Guitars, Vocals
Jessica Martin – Bass, Vocals
Nathan McMahon – Drums, Vocals